Canadian Denis Shapovalov was left frustrated with the chair umpire after Alex De Minaur’s challenge proved costly for the world No. 15 in the final game of the second set during their ATP Cup match.
De Minaur successfully backed up Friday’s huge win over superstar Alexander Zverev.
Like Zverev, the Aussie was forced to dig deep once again, coming from a set down to stun Shapovalov.
De Minaur clinched the tie for Australia, beating the world No. 15 6-7(6) 6-4 6-2.
ATP Cup Highlights: Alex de Minaur v Denis Shapovalov
But when Shapovalov was looking to break De Minaur’s serve and level the second set 5-5, the Canadian was left visibly upset when a review didn’t go his way.
Shapovalov had the break point and was doing everything he could to wrap up the match in two sets.
With De Minaur fighting to stay in the match, the lines-person ruled the ball was “out” on the Aussie’s serve.
De Minaur challenged the call and was successful, with replays showing the ball had just touched the line.
The Canadian failed to successfully return the Aussie’s serve which prompted a change of point, putting the game back at deuce.
Aussies complete clean sweep with incredible point
Shapovalov argued the point should’ve been replayed with the original call of “out,” coming before he returned De Minaur’s serve.
The Canadian told the chair umpire to review the decision, with the official ruling the lines-person’s call came after he made his return.
The world No. 15 was furious with the decision and clashed with umpire as the crowd and benches watched on.