Virat Kohli raised eyebrows during the second ODI match against Australia when he was caught running on the pitch.
Ex-Australian opener Michael Slater noted the moment during the 43rd over of India’s innings in their win over Australia.
Kohli was not called up by umpires for obviously running over the middle of the wicket twice in two consecutive overs.
“Just seeing how he navigates the two, for me that is very much on the pitch, and that is definitely on the pitch”, Slater said on Fox Sports’ commentary.
“If I’m an umpire I’m watching that and I’m just telling him to get off a surface that the opposition have got to bat on later.”
Marnus Labuschagne and David Warner both got in hot water over the offence this summer against New Zealand, costing the Australian team a five-run penalty.
Though Kohli was not reprimanded by officials, his teammate Ravindra Jadeja was warned by umpires for running over the wicket in the 47th over.
“It’s as though they’re not aware of it,” Slater noted.
“The third umpire should be taking note and just sending a message.”